Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation

Mobile App
Toll Free Number
A- A A+

The Vizag(Visakhapatnam) Municipality was set up as early as in 1858. The Vizag(Visakhapatnam) Municipality was formed in order to fulfill the basic infrastructural needs of the people and was converted into Municipal Corporation in 1979.

Visakhapatnam is one of the earliest municipalities along with Nellore, Kurnool, Vizianagaram and Bhimilipatnam. Voluntary Municipal Association was set up in Visakhapatnam in the year 1858 under All India Act XXVI of 1850 with the advent of Town Improvement Act of Madras (Act. 10 of 1865).

Substantial changes occurred and the Voluntary Municipal Association had become a Municipality having a commission consisting of Officials and nominated mercantile community. Subsequently, vide Madras District Municipalities Act 1884 the Commission was designated as Council. The Constitutionals and Administrative set up of the Vizag Municipality set forth by the Madras District Municipalities Act.1920 and the Amendment Act 1933 remained unchanged without any significant changes until 1965 when the Andhra Pradesh Legislature passed the Andhra Pradesh Municipalities Act 1965.

Since then the Vizag Municipality has grown in its Municipal limits due to the incorporation of new areas and thus the need for conversion to Municipal Corporation occurred in the year 1979.

Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation was serving the estimated population of 12 lakhs with a total number of 4,534 officials and staff. The growth rate of the population between 1981-91 was 47.39% and the total annual revenue of the Corporation was about Rs. 100 crores. The Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation has been performing a variety of functions ever since it was established as a Voluntary Municipal Association as early as 1858.

Greater Visakha has finally arrived. The areas of the erstwhile Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation along with the Gajuwaka Municipality and 32 villages (includes few Panchayats) that will now be governed by Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation (GVMC). GVMC came into existence after the Government of Andhra Pradesh released the Government Order (GO) on November 21, 2005. With the inclusion of the Gajuwaka Municipality, Greater Visakha will have a large industrial base. Major industries such as the Visakhapatnam Steel Plant, Bharat Heavy Plate and Vessels and the Hindustan Zinc, now a part of the Sterlite group will come under the limits of Greater Visakhapatnam.

The Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation (GVMC) is the chief governing body of Visakhapatnam city. It has the jurisdiction limit of an area of 540 Sq km (210 sq mi). It is also a part of planning body of Visakhapatnam Urban Development Authority.

Services offered by GVMC include:
  • Water Supply
  • Lighting
  • Urban Infrastructure Development
  • Tax, Non-Tax, Assigned and other Revenue Collection along with Budgetary control
  • Sanitation, Solid Waste Management
  • Health and Medical Services with various schemes
  • Urban Community Development and Poverty Alleviation
  • Pre-primary, Primary, Upper primary and High school education services
  • Capacity and Institutional Building, Maintenance of Parks Leisures and Cemeteries
  • Maintenance of Sports Complexes and Stadiums for indoor & outdoor games
  • Provision of Property, Vacant and Water Connections
  • Shops Leases and Rentals along with D&O Trade Licenses
  • Grievances Redressal System for the citizens of Visakhapatnam